WFMW – Cleaning Pee Mess

The other day we had an icky mishap, Hubby-jr (4) accidentally knocked over a potty! Ack! And the little pee that was still in it spilled onto the floor! Ick! Thankfully though our floor’s not carpetted but tiled. Phew!

Still, there was this small puddle of… eww pee staring at me. How was I going to clean it up without having contact with it too much?? (Ugh, just the thought even now grosses me out! Yes it’s been awhile since such a “mayhem” has happened.) I know, I know I’ve been a stay at home mommy for over four years now but hey, cleaning pee and poo never gets any less icky with experience… ever!

Anyway after a minute of bewilderment I saw a piece of diaper lying nearby. The disposable kind (earth, please forgive me). In a flash I grabbed it, opened it face down and wiped the pee mess with it. The diaper absorbed the “puddle” quickly and entirely AND most importantly without my hands having to touch any of “it”. Phee eew! Yeah after that I wiped the floor again with a mop and that was it. Job done. I felt so relieved and pleased with myself!  :-)

That’s my tip for this week. Cleaning pee mess on the floor with a disposable diaper. Yes this tip is not for the environmentalist. I know it was kind of a waste of a good diaper too. But it worked for me.

Go over to Rocks In My Dryer to see what else worked for other moms.

15 Responses to “WFMW – Cleaning Pee Mess”

  1. Nikki Says:

    We had a pee mess too this week. Those diapers are so absorbent and fairly close by. Why didn’t I think of this? I suppose you could also use a menstrual pad– depending on how much you’re soaking up.

  2. Pmom Says:

    Fantastic tip! Thanks.

  3. Overwhelmed! Says:

    I have to laugh at this tip (in a nice way) only because we’re working on potty training my son and those accidents are happening at our house too. :)

    Thanks for the tip!

  4. T & N Says:

    Yep, I’m in the ‘Potty training club’ too with my 3rd.
    Great idea!

  5. Robin Says:

    Oh wow, that is brilliant! Where were you yesterday when I really, REALLY needed this…

  6. thediaperdiaries Says:

    That is a great tip!

  7. Alicia Says:

    A stroke of genius! Sad that I had to wait until #3 for someone like you to think this up. I’m sure I’ll be using this tip a lot as we potty train. Thanks so much!!!

  8. Kara Says:

    I’ve heard of this tip but always forget. Would’ve been useful for the pee mess we had this week.

  9. SAHMmy Says Says:

    That’s thinking on your feet! Fear of accidents like these is exactly why I never bought a kiddie potty–we just used the ring on the regular toilet seat and a step stool! You are so right–dealing with poop and pee never gets easier!

  10. laane Says:

    I always had household gloves and pieces of old t-shirts ready for accidents.

    I just threw the dirty cotton in the compost… it recycles well.

  11. yestheyareallmine Says:

    That will work great with my cloth diapers too! The thick inserts are perfect for that. Great tip!

    Rhen

  12. Callista Says:

    That’s perfect for when the dog pees too! I hate using the mop because it retains the smell and using towels seems to gross too but I don’t always have paper towel on hand. Plus one diaper is a lot less waste than many paper towels. You could also use a diaper that’s a size your child no longer fits into.

  13. Adena (cre82learn) Says:

    Great tip. Actually on our recent vacation one of the kids spilled over a drink on the carpet of the van. Just as luck would have it, there were no napkins or anything to wipe it up with. (From past experience, this is mold quickly in hot weather if not totally absorbed up). I tried to find a burp pad quickly in the diaper bag but first thing I grabbed was a diaper. It did an excellent job!!

  14. ShayShay Says:

    Works for juice out of carpet too!

  15. Awesome Mommy Says:

    Great tip! But I’m still paranoid about the grout and making sure it is clean after a potty accident. I found a great product!! It is called DP (de-pee) Stain and Odor Remover. I have used it on carpets, tile (including the tile grout!!), mattresses, car seats and car upholstery. I’ve used it as a laundry pre-treat also. It is fantastic! Completely removes stain AND ODOR! Love this product!!!! (It’s new and not widely available yet, but it is available on Amazon.com.)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

