WFMW – Cinnamon Lowers Blood Sugar

This week’s tip that I’m sharing with you has to do with health and it worked for my mom. She got this tip from her friend who’s a diabetic and it’s a very simple homemade cinnamon drink.

Boil one cinnamon stick (about 5cm or 3 inches long) in 1 litre (about 4 cups) of water for about half an hour. Drink one cup a day or every other day depending on how high your blood sugar level is but best not to exceed two cups a day. You can drink it hot or chilled, storing the remainder in the fridge.

While my mom’s not diabetic her blood sugar level hovers at the higher end of the normal range. Apparently after she started taking the cinnamon drink it lowered and her regular doctor even thought she may have taken some diabetic medication.

According to my mom, after taking this drink for sometime her diabetic friend now no longer needs to take any diabetic medication. He started by drinking two cups a day and when his blood sugar level dropped to more normal levels he reduced the “dosage” to one cup a day and these days he takes them alternate days.

Please don’t go dropping your medication immediately if you’re diabetic! My mom’s friend continued with his medication and at the sametime drank this cinnamon thingy until such a time when his doctor gave him the okay to stop his meds.

So that’s the tip for the week. Drink some cinnamon and keep your blood sugar level in check. It worked for my mom and her friend. For other stuff that works click here.

10 Responses to “WFMW – Cinnamon Lowers Blood Sugar”

  1. Susan Says:

    Oh that is interesting. When I was pregnant, my OBGYN in Germany told me NO cinnamon! The reason she gave was that it caused contractions. So when my baby was overdue, I tried to intake cinnamon, but it didn’t seem to work:(

  2. Anne-Marie Says:

    I was researching cinnamon a while back, as a friend had mentioned it was a natural appetite suppressant. I believe the site I came across also mentioned it having good effects on cholesterol levels. Here’s a good site I found: http://www.whfoods.org/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=68

    Blessings,
    Anne-Marie

  3. mommy-fied Says:

    Hey Anne-Marie, tks for sharing the link. It’s really informative.

  4. amyswandering Says:

    Very interesting – thanks for sharing!

  5. Jane Says:

    Good tip to file away.

  6. mamabliss Says:

    Hey thanks so much for sharing… this is definitely good news to me – a diabetic… will certainly try it and share with you if it worked on me…since I test my blood sugar regularly… 😉 thanks once again!!!

    God Bless!

  7. mommy-fied Says:

    Mamabliss,
    I hope it works for you! Yah and let me know if it does.

  8. Libby Says:

    Hi there, i am Libby, i got to know your blog thru mamabliss blogspot. Nice to know you, you are welcome to visit my blog at http://www.libbyfu.blogspot.com...


Leave a Reply

