WFMW – Frugal And Eco-Friendly Way To Cook

tigerthermalpot1.jpg

I can’t rave enough about this magic thermal cooker. My mom told me about it years ago but since I was single and wasn’t cooking much (okay, more like NOT cooking at all) it fell on deaf ears. Besides it was such a hefty “investment”.

Well since I became a stay at home mom, things have changed drastically (to say the least!). Cooking has increased exponentially in my life! And I just love easy, hassle free cooking. That’s how I remembered this thermal thingy that mom talked about a long time ago. I window shopped for months before I took the plunge but I am SO glad I did. I think it’s the most ingenius and wonderful cooking invention since the microwave!

Anything you can cook in a slow cooker you can cook in this magic cooker. Just put all the ingredients in the inner pot and bring it to boil over the stove. Then remove it and place the inner pot into the thermal cooker and close the lid. Hours later your dish will be cooked. Voila! Yes that’s it. The food will cook just from the heat retained in the pot. Yes, without electricity or gas! Save some money and no worries about forgetting to turn off the gas stove. Wonderful huh?

So far I’ve cooked chicken stew, bak kut teh (local pork ribs herbal thingy), braised pork and even brewed chrysanthemum ginseng tea with it. It works! (Even for western stuff, click on the picture and read the Amazon review) It.Truly.Does.Work! It’s magic!

For other magical tips click here.

P/S: I finally bought a cheaper version (as I still had doubts about it and didn’t want to end up regretting an expansive buy) but it still worked. Now I’m saving for the branded one like in the picture!

7 Responses to “WFMW – Frugal And Eco-Friendly Way To Cook”

  1. infinitygoods Says:

    Very interesting. Had never seen these before. Pressure cookers are really great and fast too.

  2. SusaninGermany Says:

    ohh, I like the eco friendly part. I am unsure they have this where I am at. But will keep an eye out for one.

  3. Ornery's Wife Says:

    Haven’t ever heard of this before. I’ll have to check it out!
    TM

  4. yestheyareallmine Says:

    I am going to check this out. Great post!

  5. TX Poppet Says:

    Never seen this before. Actually sounds safer than leaving something plugged in all day. Found your blog via WFMW. Glad I did.

  6. WFMW - Easy Chicken Stew « Mommy-fied Says:

    […] usually cook this using the magic thermal cooker that I raved about sometime ago. What I do is put everything into the inner pot of the cooker and […]

  7. WFMW - Sweet, Non-spicy Curry « Mommy-fied Says:

    […] thing I love most about this recipe is that I can even cook it using my magical Thermal Cooker. I follow the steps up to dissolving the curry mix. Then after bringing it to boil I immediately […]


Leave a Reply

