Wedding Anniversary

Yesterday was my wedding anniversary. Hubby and I have been married for 6 years. Yeah, SIX whole years. On one hand it seems just like yesterday that we got married and yet on the other, it seems like we’ve always been married!

They say… “You’d end up marrying someone like your dad.”

They say… “History has a tendency to repeat itself.”

In my case, “they” were so right, it isn’t even funny.

I’ve never seen my daddy give my mom flowers, ever! But I’ve seen how he’d drive out and wait for my mom when it’s raining just so she won’t have to walk in the rain. Not romantic but sweet.

Hubby’s bought me flowers many times and even bling blings (not huge ones but good enough for me) but in general he’s more sweet and not quite the romantic. If I expected a surprise planned romantic night out that would sweep me off my feet… let’s just say “fat hope” would have filled my entire apartment and more!

BUT hubby is very sweet. He’d make me coffee in the mornings, help me feed the kids in the mornings just so I can the extra 30 minutes of sleep. He did the grocery shopping for 2 months after each of my babies just arrived and I was overwhelmed. He’d take leave from work if he can if any of our kids or I fell ill or had some doctor’s appointment. I could just go on some more but I think you get the picture… so you see, he’s just the sweetest. Not romantic but sweet.

My parents met at work, fell in love and got married.

Hubby and I met at work, became friends then fell in love and got married.

My dad is younger than my mom by one year.

Hubby is two years younger than me.

My parents have two kids, first a boy and second me! My brother’s older by 2 and half years.

Hubby and I have two kids. First a boy and second a girl. Hubby-jr’s older by almost 3 years.

Isn’t it just downright creepy? Life is truly stranger than fiction! But you know what? I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love my hubby and I love the family we’re building together.

One Response to “Wedding Anniversary”

  1. Ruth Says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! this is wild how similar your marriage is to your parents! i also can see simularities in mine and my parents….not completely the same but definitely not opposite either.


Leave a Reply

