WFMW – No More Fishy Business!

Sometime ago I threw away a whole bag of frozen dory fillets!

Just before the throwing incident, I had patiently defrosted two pieces of the big fillets, lovingly sliced them and after that coat them with eggs and breadcrumbs before deep frying them (hey, I followed a recipe closely!) I had also taken great pains to whip up a Chinese sweet sour sauce just to go with it. BUT… to my horror when I took my first bite, it tasted FISHY! Really FISHY! Being somewhat new to cooking then and it being the first time I cooked Dory fish, I simply leaped to the conclusion that all frozen Dory fish are fishy. So I threw whatever pieces of frozen Dory fillets I had left from the bag I had bought into the bin!!

Then there were other times I threw away fish I had cooked (again because of the fishiness) thinking the fish had gone bad. It’s only recently that I realized what a doofus I am was!

My dear mom (God bless her) pointed out to me that all I needed to do was to rub salt and pepper onto the (thawed) fish and let it sit for about 20 minutes before doing anything else.

I’ve been doing this ever since and let me tell you, there has been no recurrence of me throwing out any fish! I’ve successfully eradicated fishiness from all my fish dishes! It worked for me. I hope it works for you too. Just a point to note, do not skip the step of letting the fish sit for about 20 minutes. It’s critical!

(However this is not necessary if your recipe already involves coating your fish with pepper. Like my simple salmon/cod fish recipe but best to still let fish sit with seasoning for a while first.)

Now head on over to Rocks in My Dryer for more tips.

2 Responses to “WFMW – No More Fishy Business!”

  1. ames Says:

    hmmm, didn’t know that. The fishiness is what always turns me off from cooking fish, that and how easy it is to over-cook. Thanks for the tip!

  2. Ruth Says:

    hi friend — with all the hubba ba loo my addy changed.
    you can find me at
    http://itstrueroo.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

