Temporary Insanity

Just after I talked about simplifying I was seized by temporary insanity. Since yesterday I’ve been attempting to transform my “refuge-camp like” flat to a perfectly kept one. If that’s not insanity I don’t know what is. And yes, it is temporary. Sooner or later my true-loathing-cleaning/tidying-self will return.

It started when I was invited to drop by a neighbour’s house two days ago. I am not exaggerating when I say that her house was I-M-M-A-C-U-L-A-T-E! Absolutely spotless. Absolutely free of clutter. Not ONE thing was out of place. It was like walking into a resort. Mind you, she has two kids and both are the same age as mine. Well yes, she has a full-time domestic helper but still…

I was awestruck and a tad embarrassed about my home.

After that I became somewhat possessed! I went into tidying, rearranging and throwing frenzy mode yesterday. In the morning my kids were left pretty much on their own (of course later hubby-jr went to school). “Mommy’s busy, busy, busy.” In the evening they were still left alone. “Sorry kids, mommy’s tired, flat out, exhausted!”

I had no time or energy to cook either, so hubby helped pack dinner home. As we were having dinner later I told him about what I did and why. “Is this why you’re exhausted? Can you please not do this anymore?”

“Okay,” I said. I was coming a little to my senses. By the end of yesterday I realized immaculate house was an unattainable goal for me (for us). It’s just not us – we’re not the orderly sort. And I think it would “kill” us if ever I became fixated with having an immaculate home.

Still, last night as I was watching American Idol I packed my room a little during commercials. I couldn’t help it. I was driven. A part of me was still in la-la land.

Actually a part of me still IS. I packed some more today but a lot less than yesterday. I’ve to seize this fervour as it comes by so rarely. Hey, I’ve managed to clear quite a fair bit. There are now only 2 to 3 problem areas left in my home. That’s down from 7 to 10! I’m so proud of myself (gush).

I’m actually hoping the insanity stays a little longer… at least till I’ve addressed ALL of them. Hmmm… well, maybe just almost ALL… there is this corner I just want to keep denying even exists. That corner (if it exists) needs some serious miraculous act of housekeeping.

One Response to “Temporary Insanity”

  1. Fruits of My Insanity « Mommy-fied Says:

    […] 18, 2008 — mommy-fied  Ta da! Here’s two photos to show off some of the fruits of my temporary insanity. Both the tv console and the dining table used to be half filled with […]


Leave a Reply

