WFMW – Sweet, Non-spicy Curry

vcurry.jpg

I discovered this Japanese Curry Mix. Uh… well alright its more like my brother in law bought it and cooked it sometime ago (i.e. a few years) and we (hubby and I) liked it. After that I tried cooking it at home but Hubby-jr didn’t take to it and so I kind of shelved the recipe.Then very recently as I was cracking my head for a new quick and easy recipe for chicken I remembered this and decided to give it another go. I prepared and served Hubby-jr another dish just in case the curry turned him off. At the sametime I asked him to try the curry. Guess what? He liked it! Hurray, another super easy yummy dish my family likes.

Seriously, it’s really EASY and YUMMY. The curry is not spicy at all and is a little sweet (it claims to have a touch of apple and honey). It goes very well with steamed rice and if you feel up to it, serve it with sunny side up eggs (one per person). Hmm… yum. And if potatoes and carrots are not enough veggie for your family just toss a salad.

To cook the curry, add chicken, potatoes, onion and carrots to water in a pot and bring it to boil. Then remove from the stove and break the curry mix (they come in chocolate like bar) into pieces and plonk it into the pot. Stir until the curry mix is fully dissolved and place the pot back over the stove. Cook on low heat for about 20 minutes after it boils. That’s it. Easy right? All the instructions can be found at the back of the box, in English.

The thing I love most about this recipe is that I can even cook it using my magical Thermal Cooker. I follow the steps up to dissolving the curry mix. Then after bringing it to boil I immediately put it into the thermal cooker (instead of simmering on low heat for 20 minutes). It worked. The vegetables cooked nicely without disintegrating and the thermal kept it hot until it was time for dinner (I cooked it at 2pm and we had dinner at 7pm).

Yummy and easy to cook Japanese curry works great for my family. For other tips that work go here.

P/S: Yes, thankfully I’m feeling quite normal today despite catching chicken pox. I just have very tiny spots here and there but its crummy that I’m quarantined at home.

5 Responses to “WFMW – Sweet, Non-spicy Curry”

  1. Jennifer K. Says:

    Oooooh, I love Japanese curry! Well my husband is Japanese, so really I like anything Japanese, but I do love me some Vermont curry. It’s really good too if you grate some apple into it. This is usually a fall/winter thing for us.

    If you like Chicken and dumplings, another great mix they have is for something called “Cream Stew”. It’s sooooo good and definately easy to make.

  2. connie Says:

    Have you ever made roast beef in your thermal pot? I have a thermal pot and I just love it and I’m wondering if I can make roast beef in it.

  3. mommy-fied Says:

    No, I’m afraid I’ve not tried making roast beef in the thermal pot.

  4. Anna Says:

    Do you have other recipies to use in the Thermal pot? I got mine from Taiwan and the recipies are in chinese. I’m worried about not cooking meats long enough prior to putting it into the pot and then not leaving it in long enough to cook the meat throughly since they say not to open it during the cooking cycle….I’m excited to use it, just not sure how to cook with it. I’ve only cooked dried mung beans. Any general tips on that?

  5. mommy-fied Says:

    In general, if the meat will be cooked if you leave it in the pot for 2 hours. Don’t worry, if you really need to check it before the time is up, just put it over the stove and bring it to boil again before putting it back into the thermal pot. (Basically boiling it brings the temperature up again. When you open it to check heat is released.)

    When I want the meat to be really tender, I’ll take inner pot out after 1-2 hrs and bring it to boil again and immediately put it back in and keep it there for another hour or so.

    My other recipe is chicken stew which you can find under recipe category on left bar. Basically you can cook any of your usual soups in the pot, just remember to reduce amount of water or add more seasoning. Water does not evaporate when using thermal pot so if you use same amount of water as you would when cooking over the stove, the taste would be more dilute. (Did you get that?)

    All the best! I love my thermal pot, it’s magical!


Leave a Reply

