More About Me…

I’m sort of a personality test junkie. I simply can’t resist participating in a personality test when presented with one. And even though I’ve done the MBTI test more than 3 times already, I’d still do ONE more when asked to. AND whaddaya know? Recently I completed another one (free mah). Someone stop me please!

But you know what? Each time I do these tests I learn a little something more about myself. Well actually… they just spell out some of what I already know intuitively. The tests also make me realise that not everyone is wired the same. So I should just “chill” about the differences, not compare and be more accepting of others and myself.

The last test I did was quite enlightening. It gave a really indepth description (it has been sometime since I’ve read a lengthy one). Most of it was spot on too. What struck me particularly was its description of my type, ENFP, as parents. Here’s just 3 paragraphs.

ENFPs as Parents
ENFPs take their parenting role very seriously, but are also very playful. There’s a bit of grown-up kid in every ENFP, so they get a lot of fun and enjoyment from playing with their children. However, they consider it essential to pass their strongly-held values and beliefs down to their children, and will strive consistently to create a positive, ideal environment for their children’s growth.
(That’s largely why I chose to be a stay at home mom.)

The ENFP may exhibit an inconsistency in their roles with their children. At one moment, they might be their child’s best friend, laughing and whooping it up, and in the next moment they may appear the stern authoritarian. This inconsistency seems to be a result of a conflict between the ENFP’s genuine desire to relate to their children on the children’s level, and their compulsion to follow their deeply-felt value system.

The ENFP is able to take care of day-to-day necessities, such as picking children up at the correct times, getting them to softball practice, getting them fed, etc. However, it is a chore for the ENFP and is not a natural strength. The ENFP also has a difficult time disciplining their children, unless a very strongly-held value has been violated.

Disciplining my kids definitely takes a lot out of me emotionally. Each “time-out” drains me. When we got married I told hubby that he would have to be the disciplinarian while I’d the “good” parent. Unfortunately that didn’t quite pan out since I’m the one who is with them all the time. I’ve unexpectedly (I certainly didn’t expect it) become a strict mom. Sigh. Hey, but I am fun OKAY!  😉

And YES it is a major chore for me to take care of the day-to-day stuff. Definitely not a natural strength. In fact I asked my hubby, “you mean, there are people who find it natural and who actually enjoy doing such stuff?” Dear hubby answered, “apparently so.” I guess that’s what separates the Martha Stewarts from the non-Martha Stewarts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

