WFMW – What Doesn’t Work For Me

I haven’t done Works For Me Wednesdays (WFMW) for awhile now but seeing this week’s theme, I couldn’t resist.

The first thing that popped to my mind was… screaming!!! By that I mean screaming at my kids to stop screaming. Totally DOES NOT work. They always end up screaming even louder than before (and yet I still find myself screaming at them at times!?)

Second thing that did not work for me was the pacifier.

No, I wasn’t dead set against the whole pacifier thing to begin with. Trust me, I was the regular desperate, stressed out new mom who tried everything to stop baby from crying and helped baby fall asleep. (Of course having colicky babies made me all the more desperate!)

So hubby and I tried the pacifier right from day one when baby arrived home. Baby took to it. Suck, suck, suck. No more crying? Woo Hoo! But wait… what’s that I hear a minute later? Waaaaaaaa! What happened? The pacifier dropped out. Okay, calm down. Just pick it up and put it back to baby’s mouth. There you go. Hmmm… sweet silence again… yah, right! Just seconds later, it falls out again and baby wails and we have to plug his/her mouth again. This cycle just went on and on and on… until baby got frustrated (and frankly so were we) and just flat out rejected the pacifier.

This didn’t just happen with baby no.1 but with our baby no.2 too.

In the end, our babies pacified themselves with their own thumbs (which somehow they naturally outgrew on their own). And eventually we got our babies to fall asleep on their own by letting them cry it out. After a few naps and night sleep they got it and just went to sleep on their own without fussing.

Yes, we tried carrying the baby to sleep initially, especially in the evenings (they were colic!). But that didn’t work either. After a while, they’d cry to sleep even when we were carrying them. So I figured, “if you’re gonna cry to sleep even when I’m carrying you (yes, even rocking didn’t help), well baby, I’d just put you down and let you cry yourself to sleep!”

Of course it was terrible to hear the crying but it was well worth the pain. Putting them down for naps or night sleep became a breeze. Just a song or two and down they’d go wide awake and they’d just doze off on their own.

For other stuff that does not work (for them) click over here.

2 Responses to “WFMW – What Doesn’t Work For Me”

  1. Jen Says:

    This post is so true. Babies really do need to learn to fall asleep on their own. I actually had a great sleeper with my first child. I would sing him a few songs and then lay him down in his crib awake and he’d happily fall asleep. Now, my second was a whole different story. She wanted to use me as her pacifier and I (being the pushover) let her. Then at a certain point (about 6 months old) we decided enough was enough and let her cry it out. It took a few nights of torture, but she finally figured it out. That seems like forever. They are now 6 and 8. Where does the time go??!!

  2. Aimee Says:

    I love your Doesn’t Work for Me! We had three thumb/finger suckers because the paci never worked. Rocking to sleep did work-all to well with my youngest daughter!!!! Oh, I wish it didn’t!!

    I am going to check out some of your speech links-my 5 year old daughter has significant speech delay and we are very frustrated with how our pedi and ENT have handled things! We have a ST that is helpful now so we are trying to make strides!!!


Leave a Reply

