WFMW – How My Son Learnt To Blow His Nose

Hubby-jr, my five year old son, inherited his daddy’s nose albeit a sensitive one. This makes him terribly prone to a runny nose. I have tried many, many times to teach him how to blow his nose and have failed almost every single time. There was a moment or two where I thought he got it but nah, the next time he needed to clear his nose he just sucked it in rather than blow it out (ooohh). Somehow he just couldn’t get it.

That was until two days ago.

His nose was acting up again and it was getting just plain gooey. “Wipe it off your face with a tissue please and throw it afterwards! Do not wipe it off with your hands!!” Get my drift?

Anyway he obeyed me and soon afterwards he developed his own tissue game. And whaddaya know??! This game taught him how to blow his nose!

First, take a piece of tissue paper.

Next stuff it into the nose, just like this.

BLOW and out comes the tissue. (Sorry we couldn’t catch a shot of the tissue hanging in mid air.)

Ta da! Easy Peasy. He now knows how to blow his nose and if he forgets I’ll just stuff tissue up his nose! For more tips and such please head over here.

P/S: No icky stuff was dislodged in this demonstration. All gooey thingies were properly cleared beforehand.

6 Responses to “WFMW – How My Son Learnt To Blow His Nose”

  1. citystreams Says:

    Brilliant! What a great idea. I wonder if my nine month old could do that.

  2. Susan Says:

    Love it!!!!!

  3. Karin Says:

    This idea is as hilarious as it is genius! I’m tempted to try it with my 2-year-old…but I’m afraid it would actually catch on. 🙂

  4. Carol Says:

    How funny!

    And what a doll!

  5. Ruth Says:

    hahaha 🙂 BRILLIANT!!!!

    thanks for your comment over at my blog today. we are lost in baby heaven. ahhhh! soooo amazing. xo

  6. Lunasea Says:

    Perfect! I’ve been trying to figure out how to do this!


Leave a Reply

