The Question

The tentacles episode was hilarious but it reminded me of another conversation Hubby-jr and I had sometime mid last year.

“How do babies get inside mommies?” 

Uh-huh. Yup, the question. The One that we cross our fingers and hold our breath hoping will not  come our way until… they reach puberty??! 

Do not think it won’t happen till your kids reach primary school (like blur me). Uh-ah, noo…o my son asked me this question when he just turned 5, and he is speech delayed. So..o I imagine my girl popping this question, next week! Okay, okay, probably not, then again…

Anyway people, it is never too early to be prepared.

So what was my reply to my son’s question?

I said, “a seed was planted in my tummy and God made it grow.” Thankfully he just had a plant-some-green-beans project at school so I knew that he’d be able to grasp that explanation well. I avoided telling him how the seed got inside me the first place and held my breath for the next few seconds praying he wouldn’t ask. 

Thank heavens he didn’t. Phew!! I managed to dodge that bullet.

That incident stunned me into realising… I had to be prepared yesterday as soon as possible. So I did what I always do, research (i.e. go to the internet)! I hunted for relevant books I could use. After narrowing down to 3 books, I went down to Kinokuniya, found the books and sat myself down and skimmed through them. In the end I settled on this book below, as I felt it was simple and had sufficient information for my kids (for now at least).

Amazing You!: Getting Smart About Your Private Parts  by Gail Saltz

amazing-you

The other two books I browsed (which you may want to check out) were…

It’s So Amazing!: A Book about Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Families by Robie Harris

its-so-amazing

Where Did I Come From? by Peter Mayle

where-did-i-come-from

There have been numerous occasions where the baby question re-surfaced. To my relief Hubby-jr’s questions always revolved around male and female being able to conceive.

“Did Mei-mei and I come out from your tummy?”

“Did daddy have a baby in his tummy?”

“When I grow up can I have a baby in my tummy?”

I am still nervous thinking about the impending question of how babies are conceived in the first place. I just hope they ask hubby first. Ha ha.

What about you? How did or would you handle such questions?

One Response to “The Question”

  1. No More Eggs? « Mommy-fied Says:

    […] night. Eggs in me? How did he know? Was it from our previous conversations? I could only remember this episode. Anyway, I said, “No, I still have eggs but I’m not going to have another baby. The egg […]


Leave a Reply

