Spaghetti Sauce with Hidden Ingredients

Life has been a little crazy in my home of late (which accounts for the reticence). The latest being Little Missy down with some viral infection for one whole week… sigh. But that’s parenthood for you. Normal days are a luxury! Oh how I crave for mundane routine days.

Oookay, that’s enough ranting for now. Today I’m going to share with you a recipe. Believe it or not, a reader actually sent me an email telling me how she liked my recipes. Incredible! Who’d knew that one day I would be sharing recipes? Once upon a time I would never have quite imagined myself cooking this much in the first place! Ahhhh well… as I’ve said so before, I am mommyfied.

Anyhoo, her email spurred me on to share this recipe with you. It’s a yummy spaghetti sauce (bolognese style) that looks just like minced meat in tomato sauce but actually has loads of veggies in them. Ah hahaha (evil laugh)… mommy tricked ya my boy!

I used to cook spaghetti sauce my daddy’s style. Minced meat, chopped garlic, chopped onions, 1 can of campbell’s tomato soup, 1 can of tomato paste and some sugar if it is too sour. Yup, quick, easy and instant. This in itself is a yummy sauce. But dear ol Hubby-jr, my six year old, disliked it. Simply because he could see the bits of cooked chopped onions. Didn’t help that one time I added chopped capsicum into the sauce.

But I loved this recipe. For one it is so easy to make (and store in the freezer if there’s extra). Two, all of us (except my son) love it.

So one fine day, I thought to myself, what if I just blend the onions instead. He wouldn’t see it and so he wouldn’t know. AND since I’m going to blend onions why not blend carrots as well and add that in. That would up the nutrition factor and the carrots would totally be hidden in the tomato based sauce.

And that’s what I did. Amazingly, the sauce tasted better! It somehow gave it an added punch. I didn’t even have to add any sugar, the blended carrots’ and onions’ natural sweetness was sufficient. Best of all it was a hit with my kids. They loved it. My son ate his dinner in record time and these days he gets excited whenever he smells that I’m making spaghetti for dinner.

Wait, this is not the end. There’s more. Very recently I decided to up the veggie factor one more notch. I added celery too, blended of course. It still tasted yummy and it was still a hit with my kids. Woo Hoo.

So here’s the recipe for the yummy spaghetti sauce with hidden goodness.

  • Minced meat (beef or chicken or pork or a mixture. 300g or however much you like)
  • 1 packet of McCormick Italian-Style Spaghetti Sauce Mix (can be found at Cold Storage)
  • 1 can (6oz) of tomato paste
  • 1 can Campbell tomato soup
  • 2 medium onions
  • 2-3 medium carrots (I like the ones from Australia)
  • 2 or 3 stalks or celery
  • 5 cloves garlic (sliced or chopped)
  • Olive oil (3 tablespoon)

Blend the three vegetables together (add some water, about ¼ cup) as finely as possible. Heat olive oil in pan and add garlic and fry till brown. Then add minced meat and fry till brown. Add blended veggies, tomato soup and tomato paste and stir. When mixture boils, add McCormick spaghetti mix and stir. And that’s it. Cook some pasta or spaghetti and dinner’s ready! If you find the sauce is too thick for your liking just add water.

If  you prefer not to use any instant mixes you may want to check out this Martha Stewart Bolognese Sauce Recipe I chanced upon but have yet to try. If you do, let me know how it is.

Leave a Reply

