Blessings in a Bag

After talking about me and wanting unwanted stuff, I felt compelled to highlight this wonderful initiative called Blessings in a Bag.

Basically they collect new or used (but in good condition) stuff and channel them to where they are needed across Asia. They seek to partner existing communities, orphanages, schools, homes as well as initiatives to provide for the needs of underprivileged, abused and medically-ill children across Asia. Currently they have links with agencies working with or for less fortunate children amongst a few other type of agencies.

I do not know them personally nor have I met them. I just stumbled across their website and think that they are doing a very good thing. Quite recently they launched a drop off point at *Scape Youth Park located right at the heart of town. Details are below.

*SCAPE YOUTH PARK (Opposite Orchard Cineleisure)
113 Somerset Road
The bin is located in the lobby, inside the building.
Tuesday-Sunday 10am to 10pm

I was excited to have discovered them as I have quite some stuff to “unload”. We have more crayons, colour pencils and stationary than we need. All thanks to the countless goodie bags my kids bring home from school because so and so celebrated his/her birthday! There are also clothes and shoes we’ve outgrown or gotten bored with. Not to mention the countless soft toys.

See, I don’t just collect stuff, I give them away too.

Besides feeling good knowing that the stuff are meeting someones’ needs, it is great to de-clutter (read: more room in my teeny flat/apartment for me to collect more junk… hahahaha).

It is called recycle my friends, RECYCLE!

One Response to “Blessings in a Bag”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Hi Mommy-fied!!

    This is Melissa, from Blessings In A Bag!

    I just stumbled on this blog entry from you and I want to say a massive THANK YOU from me and my team. It’s always great to find out who our ‘anonymous’ givers are and see that they’re spreading the message of giving too! 🙂

    We have a ton of new things coming up in the next few months so stay tuned to our website, there’s always a way for anybody to take part! Right now we’re putting together a video compilation of people around the world doing something nice for somebody else (no matter how small or big!)… if you’d like to submit a video, you can email me 😉

    For now, thanks a bunch for all the help and the love you have provided for our beneficiaries! Happy Chinese New Year for Sunday…

    Mel


Leave a Reply

