Not So Good News

Early this morning…

Hubby told me “Your son has rashes on his bum,” a few seconds later, “Dear! Come and see! Do they look like chicken pox to you?!” He exclaimed.

Chicken pox?! “Cannot be lah, he’s already had chicken pox!” I bellowed in reply but headed over to take a look anyway.

“See! This rash looks just like chicken pox,” hubby pointing to a small bubble like thingy.

“I don’t know lah. I think it’s just rashes. I honestly can’t tell what’s chicken pox and what’s not but he’s already had chicken pox so it can’t be. Just put some cream lah,” was my abrupt reply as I left the scene. Yup, I was grouchy. It was morning and although I had my cuppa, caffeine hadn’t kicked into my system yet.

Then just as I was cleaning up the usual breakfast aftermath, I had an epiphany. I rushed back to my son, made him sit down and checked the bottom of his feet, the palm of his hands and his tongue. Yup, yup, yup, I was right. My son has Hand Foot Mouth Disease (HFMD). It fits (Dr. House would’ve been proud). He was running a low grade fever the evening before and was complaining of a sore throat.

Since bringing Hubby-jr to the doc’s and confirming the diagnosis, Hubby has whisked Little Missy to his mom’s to minimise contact. I’ll only see her nights. Sniff.

As for me, I’ll be under house arrest together with my son for the next 7 days, after which (fingers crossed that no one else catches it) I’ll be heading back to my parents’ in Malaysia for a week. So dear all, I’ll be taking a short break (about 2 weeks) during this time.

Till then… I hope things are and will be on a healthier front for you.

One Response to “Not So Good News”

  1. The Marshmallow Test « Mommy-fied Says:

    […] Marshmallow Test November 30, 2009 — mommy-fied What does one do when one is stuck at home? Well this one here, i.e. moi, surfs the internet a little more than usual. When the kids are […]


Leave a Reply

