WFMW – Easy Chicken Stew

Hi! I’m back after a long break from Works For Me Wednesdays (WFMW).

Today I’m sharing with you a simple Chicken Stew Recipe. I got the basic ingredients off someone (sorry, I can’t remember who) and through trial and error (poor hubby had to endure the first few unsuccessful attempts) I finally figured out the right amount for each ingredient.

Well folks I’m pleased to say the taste of the stew has been consistent the last 3 times I cooked it and even hubby thinks it’s yummy. It’s really easy and I cook it almost every other week.

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken thighs (cut into small pieces) – marinate with 1 tbsp oyster sauce, dash of dark soy sauce, dash of pepper for about 20 mins.
  • 2 large potatoes – peel and cut into cubes
  • 2-3 medium carrots – peel and cut into cubes
  • 2 medium onions – peel and quartered
  • 1-2 star anise
  • 1/2 cinammon stick
  • 1 tbs oyster sauce (in addition to 1 tbs used to marinate chicken)
  • 1 tbs dark soy sauce (the thick sort)
  • 2 tbs light soy sauce
  • 1 tbs worchester sauce
  • 1/2 – 1 tbs sugar
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tbs cornstarch

I usually cook this using the magic thermal cooker that I raved about sometime ago. What I do is put everything into the inner pot of the cooker and bring it to a boil over the stove for about five minutes. Then I remove the inner pot from the stove and plonk it into the outer magic thermal cooker. The stew’s ready 2-3 hours later!

You could cook it in a slow cooker too but I’m not sure for how long (until the potatoes and carrots are soft). Alternatively you could cook it over the stove at low heat after bringing it to boil, just add about 1/2 cup or so of water.

Easy and yummy. I hope it works for you too. For other WFMW tips head on over to Rocks In My Dryer.

P/S: I finally splurged on the Tiger Magic Thermal Cooker and its worth every single cent I paid for it!

2 Responses to “WFMW – Easy Chicken Stew”

  1. Marcia Says:

    That sounds yummy – I’m going to try it and let you know if we like it. We’ve been having unseasonably cold weather so the salads and stuff like that just ain’t working 🙂

  2. Tickled Pink Says:

    I need to try your recipe! So many interesting flavors with cinammon and oysters.


Leave a comment